Wednesday, 5 June 2013

Why all Vegetarians & Vegans should know & beware about Maggi and other E foods??

The main reason behind this article remains for the awareness regarding maggi. I am also a foodie and love eating maggi whenever i am tired but decided to share this with all Maggi lovers.
Many of us can't live without " Maggi " especially when one is away from home, in a foreign land. Here is a piece of information to share so that we can remove the potential health hazard of consuming Maggi. Maybe you should print this e-mail to keep as a reminder, pin it up in the kitchen or dining room as reminder or in your purse if you are always traveling.
The reason why all vegetarians should know about maggi are health related issues, its the non veg product, and other products which seems to be a veg product but they not & why jain and vaishnav religion people can't eat maggi. All the reason are listed below. I hope you aware people about this are reading it.

1. Health related issues

Beware Maggi Lovers : Cooking Maggi Noodles in wrong way is very dangerous for health.

There is a certain way to cook maggi. You may be thinking whats new in this but the cooking process which is shown behind the packet maybe right but it is surely harmful to your body because maggi noodles are coated with Wax which harms us and takes 3 to 4 days to excrete the wax which is harmful. The ingredient called Msg can make you fat and fat people kknow how much difficult it is to loose their weight. Maggi should not be given to young children as they are also harmful to them.


Normally, how we cook the instant noodles is to put the noodles into a pot with water, throw in the powder and let it cook for around 3 minutes and then it's ready to eat. This is the WRONG way and dangerous method of cooking the instant noodles like Maggi. By doing this, when we actually boil the ingredients in the powder,normally with MSG, it will change the molecular structure of the MSG, causing it to be toxic. The other thing that you may or may not realize is that, the noodles are coated with wax and it will take around 4 to 5 days for the body to excrete the wax after you have eaten the noodles.

CORRECT METHOD OF COOKING MAGGI:

The correct way to cook instant noodles without harming our bodies and health is
1. Boil the noodles in a pot of water.
2. Once the noodles are cooked, take out the noodles, and throw away the water which contains wax.
3. Boil another pot of water, add the cooked noodles into the hot boiling water and then turn off the stove.
4. Only at this stage when the stove is off, and while the water is very hot, add the flavouring powder into the water, to make noodle soup.
5. However, if you need dry noodles, remove the noodles and add the flavoring powder and toss it to get dry noodles.

2. Maggi is non vegetarian

Maggi contains MSG (Monosodium glutamate) used as a flavor enhancer, which is made? using Bactosoytone, itself made from soy protein using a catalyst enzyme porcine (taken from intestine of Pig). Chemically, catalyst never goes in the molecular structure of Bactosoytone, hence it's Vegetarian for Nestle. MSG as such is harmful to health. Maggi also launched no-MSG series known as Vegetable Atta-Maggie, but that's just a makeover.



Atta Maggie contains? DSG (DiSodium Glutamate), which does contain Bactosoytone. Not written in ingredients as such, hidden under alias Flavor-627. Maggi also contains flavour enhancers E 631 and E 635. Also a huge number of popular packed foods such as Maggi noodles, biscuits etc and even other products such as toothpaste, soaps etc contain animal fat in them, that too, mostly PIG FAT.
(Source)

A hindi newspaper article showing, " Biscuits and chocolates contains non veg".
Non veg hidden in E foods.

"Disodium glutamate is produced from dried fish or dried seaweed and is often added to instant noodles, potato chips and other snacks, savouryrice, tinned vegetables, cured meats, and packaged soup".

Monosodium glutamate (MSG - E621) is a flavor enhancer commonly added to Chinese food, canned vegetables, soups and processed meats.

The following table indicates additives which are always derived from animals.

Definitely of animal origin

E Number
Additive Name
120
Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines Natural Red 4 - colouring
A colouring that makes many foods red. Found in alcoholic drinks, fruit pie fillings, jams, many sweets and even cheeses. Cochineal is made from the female insect found on cacti called Dactylopius Coccus. She is boiled alive or left to "cook" alive through sun exposure. Cochineal is the result of crushing scales of the insect into a red powder.
441
Gelatine - Emulsifier / Gelling Agent
You may not find this E number 441 on food ingredients listings anymore because instead of an additive, Gelatine has now been classed as food (made of animal skin and hoofs) in it's own right. Remember, all types of gelatine are animal based and can be found in dairy products like yoghurts, plus many kinds of confectionery, jellies and other sweets.
542
Bone phosphate - Anti-caking agent
631
Disodium inosinate - Flavour enhancer
Almost always made from animals and fish
635
Disodium 5'-ribonucleotides - Flavour enhancer
Often made from animals
901
Beeswax - white and yellow - Glazing Agent
Not suitable for Vegans.
966
Lactitol - Sweetener
Derived from Lactose, commercially prepared using whey, so unsuitable for vegans.
(Source)

The video belows shows the dangers of Monosodium glutamate (MSG)


The Dangers of MSG - Part 1 'The Hidden Danger in Your Food' (Flavor Enhancers E621 side effects)





FOOD ADDITIVE CODE BREAKER & SIDE EFFECTS - FLAVOR ENHANCERS, MSG

Number
Name
Comments
E620
L-Glutamic acid
might cause similar problems as MSG(621), young children should avoid it
E621
Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
can be an allergen, not permitted in foods for infants and young children
E622
Monopotassium glutamate
can cause nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea , abdominal cramps. Typical products are low sodium salt substitutes
E627
Disodiumguanylate
not permitted in foods for infants and young children
E631
Disodium inosinate
not permitted in foods for infants and young children
E635
Sodium 5'ribonucleotide
not permitted in Australia
(Source)
Why used in maggi ??


Pigs skin juice is used for bringing taste to maggi ans other flavour enhancers are listed in the above tables which play an important role in bringing the taste to the Maggi.

Simple experiment to try at home if you are non vegetarian:-

Boil chicken maggi soup powder and vegetarian maggi noodles masala powder

After boiling, taste both of them. They will taste the same.
(Source)

3. Why Jain and Vaishnav people can't eat Maggi??

People who follow jain and vaishnav religion can't eat Maggi because it contains Onion and Garlic powder in it.

4. Other Foods which contains animals



  • Albumen: This is the white of egg and is commonly used on bread and confectionary.
  • Ajinomoto: Made from fish. Used as a sauce or in Chinese food.
  • Cheese: Most foreign cheeses are made by using stomach acids obtained from the slitting the stomachs of calves while alive.
  • Chewing gum: Usually made of vegetable gum but may contain glycerine, gelatine, stearic acid and emulsifiers of animal origin. Check on the label.
  • Chips: Always fried in animal fat abroad at all fast food eateries. Packaged Indian crisps must specify that they are cooked in vegetable oils or assume that they are not.
  • Chocolates: The most commonly used animal ingredients in chocolates are egg white, egg lecithin, shellac and gelatine. Nestle’s Kitkat is made of calf rennet. Turkish Delight, fruit rolls, toffees, marshmallows, jujubes, peppermints usually contain gelatine. Polo Mints contain beef. So do most Western sweets that come in via the Middle East. Smarties contain cochineal.
  • Colas: May use ester gum as emulsifiers. Ester gum’s main ingredient is glycerol. Coca Cola admits to using glycerine.
  • Ice-cream: Unless specifically listed as vegetarian, the ice cream contains eggs and gelatine obtained by boiling cattle udders, noses and anuses. Amul and Baskin Robbins are vegetarian.
  • Jam: Jammay contain gelatine
  • Jelly: Jelly is always made of gelatine. In fact the word jelly is a short form of gelatine. A few companies make it from vegetable gum and mark it as vegetarian jelly. Look for the label.
  • Varakh: This is made by beating silver between fresh hot cow/buffalo intestines. Each piece of varakh contains specks of intestine.
  • Riboflavin: This is used as a orange-yellow colouring agent. It is obtained from egg yolk or liver. It can also come from vegetables but that is expensive. Check with the manufacturer.
  • Worcester Sauce: It contains small fish called anchovies.

  • Also see food you didn't know contained meat.

    (Source)
    Hope you share this article and make poeple aware about it, So that next time when they go to market to buy foods they know what they are taking home to consume.